في يوم من الأيام…

24 أكتوبر 2018 ماري إيدن

في يوم من الأيام…

من الممالك القديمة والأبطال الأسطوري إلى المخلوقات الأسطورية والأشباح الأثيري ، غارق آسيا في الأساطير المحلية.

لقد ولدت العديد من هذه الأساطير من الحضارات المسؤولة عن خلق الفن والآثار والمآثر للهندسة ، التي نكافح من أجلها اليوم. لذلك دعونا نطرح السؤال - هل كان عليهم الاعتماد على القصص التي كانت موجودة في خيالهم فقط ، أم أنها كانت تستند إلى أحداث حقيقية ...

الكهف والأميرة

mtspeth / Wikimedia.org

لا أحد يستطيع أن ينسى إنقاذ لا يصدق من الأولاد التايلانديين 12 ومدربهم لكرة القدم من Tham Luang Nang غير كهف in تايلاند. ولكن ما هو غير معروف جيدا هو أسطورة الكهف الذي يعني اسمه "مغارة سيدة مستلقية". تقول الأسطورة أنه في العصور القديمة وقعت أميرة أسطورية في حب صبي مستقر وسرعان ما أصبحت حاملاً. عندما علم الملك ، أمر بقتل الصبي. الحزن ، انتحرت الأميرة الشابة عن طريق طعن نفسها في المعدة. أصبح دمها الماء الذي يتدفق عبر الكهف وأصبح جسدها الجبال المحيطة بها. ويعتقد السكان المحليون أن روحها لا تزال موجودة في الكهف ، لذلك تركوا القرابين في ضريحها بالقرب من مدخل الكهف.

أسطورة ماهاباليبورام

فيكاس رنا / Flickr.com

مدينة الميناء القديمة ماهاباليبورام in الهندتشتهر تاميل نادو بمعابدها ونقوشها الرائعة المدرجة في التراث العالمي. تقول الأسطورة أن ستة معابد أخرى مشابهة بالمثل وقفت بجانب معبد شور الشهير. كانت هذه البنى جميلة جداً لدرجة أن العديد من الآلهة أصبحوا حسودين. في غضب غيور ، استدعى الرب اللورد إندرا عاصفة شرسة غمرت المدينة بأكملها تحت الماء. فقدت جميع المعابد باستثناء واحد - معبد شور. يدعي الصيادون أنهم رأوا قمم المعابد المغمورة في البحر ، وأثناء تسونامي 2004 ، قيل إن البقايا المشتبه بها في المعابد تم الكشف عنها.

سيدة أسطورة بنوم بنه

اشلي / Flickr.com

في 14th قرن كمبودياعاش هناك سيدة غنية تسمى بنه. في أحد الأيام ، أثناء الفيضان السيء ، وجدت شجرة مجوفة تطفو في النهر المتورم. في الداخل كان هناك أربعة تماثيل برونزية لبوذا. رؤية هذا كعلامة طلبت من جيرانها إنشاء تلة من صنع الإنسان في مكان قريب. على القمة قاموا ببناء معبد جميل لإيواء تماثيل بوذا. سرعان ما أصبح المعبد معروفًا في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، وفي السنوات التالية انتقلت العاصمة إليه بنوم بنه. وهكذا ، فإن القصة ، هي كيف حصلت المدينة على اسمها - بنوم بنه معنى "تل السيدة بنه".

صخرة Kyaiktiyo وشعر بوذا

apiguide / Shutterstock.com

الغير معقول صخرة ذهبية at Kyaiktiyo in ميانمار يبدو أنه يتحدى الجاذبية ، موازنة غير مستقرة على جانب التل. تقول الأسطورة أن الصخرة متوازنة تمامًا على شعر من شعر بوذا ، وهذا فقط هو الذي يمنع الصخرة من الانهيار. ويقال إن الشعر قد تم التبرع به للملك من قبل الناسك الذين حصلوا عليه من بوذا نفسه. يعتقد البوذيون أنه إذا أكملت الحج إلى Kyaiktiyo معبد ثلاث مرات في عام واحد ، سوف تنعم بحظ عظيم. لهذا السبب ، يتدفق الحجاج هنا بالآلاف للتأمل ، والتهاني ، والشموع الخفيفة. وسواء كانت القصة حقيقية أم لا ، فهي حقاً مدهشة.

تايلاند Muay Thai Hero

Sirisak_baokaew / Shutterstock.com

رياضة الملاكمة التايلاندية تحيط بها الأساطير والخرافات. واحدة من أكثر شعبية هي عن بطل تايلاندي يسمى ناي خانوم توم. في 1774 ، كان Nai Khanom توم سجين حرب في بورما. أراد الملك البورمي رؤية ما إذا كان فنونهم القتالية أفضل من مواي تاي ، لذا دعوا إلى المنافسة. كونه مقاتل عظيم ، هزم ناي خان توم توم عشرة من أفضل معارضي بورما. أعجب ، أعطى الملك البورمي ناي خان توم توم حريته وعاد إلى سيام كبطل. حتى يومنا هذا ، كل 17th من شهر مارس ، عقد الشعب التايلاندي معارك لتكريم Nai Khanom Tom.

التنين من خليج هالونج

© ICS مجموعة السفر

يعتقد الجيولوجيون أن المشهد لا يصدق من خليج هالونغ فيتنام هي نتيجة 500 مليون سنة من التغيرات الجيولوجية ، لكن الفيتناميين لديهم نظرية مختلفة. هالونغ يترجم "حيث ينزل التنين في البحر"، ويعتقد أن الآلهة أرسلت عائلة من التنين للدفاع عن الأرض من الغزاة. أذيعت أذرعهم من الوديان والصدوع ، وبصقوا الجواهر التي تحولت إلى جزر. كان "التنين الأم" مستلقياً على الأرض التي ساعدت فيها في حماية تشكيل المناظر الطبيعية الجبلية التي نعرفها ونحبها اليوم.

Once upon a time…

October 24, 2018
October 24, 2018 Mary Eden

Once upon a time…

From ancient kingdoms and legendary heroes to mythical creatures and ethereal ghosts, Asia is steeped in local legends.

Many of these myths were born from civilisations responsible for creating art, monuments and feats of engineering, the likes of which we struggle to comprehend today. So let’s ask the question – did they really have to rely on stories that existed in their imaginations only, or were they based on true events…

The Cave and the Princess

mtspeth / Wikimedia.org

No one can forget the incredible rescue of 12 Thai boys and their football coach from Tham Luang Nang Non cave in Thailand. But what is not so well known is the legend behind the cave, whose name means ‘the cave of the reclining lady’. Legend says that in ancient times a mythical princess fell in love with a stable boy and soon became pregnant. When the king found out, he ordered the boy to be killed. Heartbroken, the young princess committed suicide by stabbing herself in the stomach. Her blood became the water that flows through the cave and her body became the surrounding mountains. The locals believe that her spirit remains in the cave so leave offerings at her shrine near the cave entrance.

 

The Myth of Mahabalipuram

Vikas Rana / Flickr.com

The ancient port city of Mahabalipuram in India‘s Tamil Nadu is famous for its magnificent, World Heritage–listed temples and carvings. Legend says that six other similarly spectacular temples stood next to the famous Shore Temple. So beautiful were these structures that many of the gods become envious. In a jealous rage, the god Lord Indra, summoned up a ferocious storm that submerged the entire city under water. All the temples were lost except one – the Shore Temple. Fishermen claim to have seen the tops of submerged temples out at sea, and during the 2004 tsunami it’s said that suspected remains of the temples were revealed.

 

The Lady of the Legend of Phnom Penh

Ashley / Flickr.com

In 14th century Cambodia, there lived a wealthy lady called Penh. One day, during a bad flood, she found a hollow tree floating in the swollen river. Inside were four bronze statues of Buddha. Seeing this as a sign she asked her neighbours to create a man-made hill nearby. On the top they built a beautiful temple to house the Buddha statues. The temple soon became known all over the country, and in later years the capital moved to Phnom Penh. That, so the story goes, is how the city got its name – Phnom Penh meaning ‘The Hill of Lady Penh’.

 

Kyaiktiyo Rock and the Buddha’s Hair

apiguide / Shutterstock.com

The incredible golden rock at Kyaiktiyo in Myanmar seems to defy gravity, balancing precariously on the side of a hill. Legend has it that the rock is perfectly balanced on a strand of Buddha’s hair, and it is only this that stops the rock from crashing down. The hair is said to have been donated to the king by a hermit who received it from the Buddha himself. Buddhists believe that if you complete the pilgrimage to Kyaiktiyo Pagoda three times in one year, you’ll be blessed with great fortune. For this reason, pilgrims flock here in their thousands to meditate, chant and light candles. Whether the story is true or not, it really is an amazing sight.

 

Thailand’s Muay Thai Hero

Sirisak_baokaew / Shutterstock.com

The sport of Muay Thai is surrounded by myths and legends. One of the most popular is about a Thai hero called Nai Khanom Tom. In 1774, Nai Khanom Tom was a war prisoner in Burma. The Burmese king wanted to see whether their martial art was better than Muay Thai, so called for a competition. Being a great fighter, Nai Khanom Tom defeated ten of Burma’s best opponents. Impressed, the Burmese king gave Nai Khanom Tom his freedom and he returned to Siam as a hero. To this day, every 17th of March, the Thai people hold fights to honour Nai Khanom Tom.

The Dragons of Halong Bay

© ICS Travel Group

Geologists believe that the incredible landscape of Halong Bay is the result of 500 million years of geological changes, but the Vietnamese has a different theory. Halong translates as ‘where the dragon descends into the sea’, and is it believed that the gods sent a family of dragons to defend the land from invaders. Their tails gouged out valleys and crevasses and they spat out jewels that turned into islands. The Mother Dragon lay on the land she had helped to protect forming the iconic mountainous landscape that we know and love today.