思想的食物:对社会负责任的餐馆

一月年8月2019日 玛丽伊登

思想的食物:对社会负责任的餐馆

亚洲以其美食文化而闻名。 但是当你冒险去品尝当地美食时,知道你也在帮助有需要的人,这不是很好吗?

对我们来说幸运的是,那些以自己的社会良知为食的新鲜健康食品的地方正在亚洲各地涌现。

看看这些支持当地社区的餐馆,帮助处境不利的青年走向更美好的未来:

缅甸 - 萨农

缅甸Sanon餐厅的工作人员

Giant Irrawaddy虾咖喱和坚果香蕉油条配青柠檬糖浆 - 这些只是菜单上的一些美味食品 Sanon培训餐厅。 它位于Bagan的Nyaung U镇最近装修的啤酒站。 这家非营利性的社会企业对待遇的弱势青年进行培训并找到工作。 然后它再监视它们两年,以确保它们整合并拥有成功的职业生涯。

柬埔寨 - Jaan Bai

柬埔寨Jaan Bai餐厅

Jaan Bai在高棉语中意为“饭碗”,是马德望的一家社会企业餐厅。 由曼谷Nahm的澳大利亚厨师David Thompson以及Quay和Otto的悉尼餐厅老板John Fink提供支持,为年轻人提供培训和就业机会。 食物在 Jaan Bai 是亚洲和高棉的创意融合,它是素食主义者和当地采购。 开放式厨房里的年轻厨师提供一碗咖喱。 特别是尝试壮观的马铃薯,玉米和番茄咖喱。

印度尼西亚 - 巴厘岛阿斯利

阿贡山从巴厘岛阿斯里餐厅的视图

尽管它位于神圣山脚下的稻田之间, 巴厘岛阿斯利 总是很忙。 那是因为使用了燃木的泥砖炉灶,让正宗的巴厘岛风味焕发光彩。 所有食材均可在餐厅的花园种植,或从当地社区购买。 虽然美味的食物肯定是一个很好的理由去参观,另一个是令人惊叹的位置,俯瞰阿贡山的无阻碍景色。

老挝 - Khaiphaen

老挝Khaiphaen餐厅的厨师

河流杂草可能听起来不那么开胃。 但是当它用芝麻炒到它的酥脆,并配上番茄和苗族蘑菇的蘸酱时,它很美味。 它被称为Khaiphaen,是老挝的一种受欢迎的小吃。 这也是一家餐馆的名称,它培养人们从待客不足的背景中获得优惠。 毗邻琅勃拉邦的湄公河, Khaiphaen的 小吃风格的菜单旨在分享。 强烈推荐老挝猪肉香肠,当然你必须尝试油炸Khaiphaen的招牌菜。

越南 - Am Thuc Thuong Nhat

如果您正在寻找当地和时令产品, Am Thuc Thuong Nhat 在胡志明市将在您的街道上。 菜单每天都有所不同,因为食物是从当地农民那里购买的,所以这取决于他们的食物。 餐厅为餐馆和酒店业的弱势家庭培训年轻的越南人。 学员们可以在餐厅亲自动手练习,并将所有利润再投资于培训。

Food for Thought: Socially Responsible Restaurants

January 8, 2019 Mary Eden

Food for Thought: Socially Responsible Restaurants

Asia is known for its foodie culture. But when you venture out to sample the local cuisine, wouldn’t it be great to know that you’re also helping someone in need?

Luckily for us, places that pride themselves on fresh, wholesome food with a social conscience are popping up all over Asia.

Check out these restaurants that support the local communities and help disadvantaged youth cook their way to a better future:

Myanmar – Sanon

Staff at Sanon Restaurant, Myanmar

Giant Irrawaddy prawn curry and nutty banana fritters with kaffir lime syrup – these are just a few of the tasty items on the menu at the Sanon Training Restaurant. It’s located in a recently renovated beer station in the town of Nyaung U, Bagan. This non-profit social enterprise trains disadvantaged youth in hospitality and finds them employment. It then monitors them for a further two years to ensure they integrate and have a successful career.

 

Cambodia – Jaan Bai

Jaan Bai Restaurant, Cambodia

Jaan Bai means ‘rice bowl’ in Khmer, and is a social enterprise restaurant in Battambang. Backed by Australian chef David Thompson of Nahm Bangkok, and Sydney restaurateur John Fink, of Quay and Otto, it provides training and employment for young people. The food at Jaan Bai is a creative fusion of Asian and Khmer, it’s vegan-friendly and locally sourced. And the young chefs in the open kitchen serve up a mean bowl of curry. In particular, try the spectacular potato, corn, and tomato curry.

 

Indonesia – Bali Asli

View of Mount Agung from Bali Asli Restaurant

Despite its remote location among rice fields in the foot hills of a sacred mountain, Bali Asli is always busy. That’s because wood-fired, mud brick stoves are used, allowing the authentic Balinese flavours to shine through. All the ingredients are either grown in the restaurant’s garden or purchased from the local community. While the delicious food is certainly a good enough reason to visit, another is the stunning location with unhindered views overlooking Mount Agung.

 

Laos – Khaiphaen

Chef at Khaiphaen Restaurant, Laos

River weed may not sound that appetising. But when it’s fried with sesame seeds until its crispy and served with dips of tomato and Hmong mushrooms, it’s delicious. It’s known as Khaiphaen and is a popular snack in Laos. It’s also the name of a restaurant that trains people from under-privileged backgrounds in hospitality. Located next to the Mekong River in Luang Prabang, Khaiphaen’s tapas-style menu is designed for sharing. The Lao pork sausages come highly recommended, and of course you have to try the signature dish of fried Khaiphaen.

 

Vietnam – Am Thuc Thuong Nhat

If you’re looking for local and seasonal produce, Am Thuc Thuong Nhat in Ho Chi Minh City will be right up your street. The menu can vary from day to day as the food is bought from the local farmers so just depends what they have. The restaurant trains young Vietnamese from disadvantaged families in the restaurant and hospitality industry. The trainees get hands-on practice in the restaurants and all the profits are reinvested in training.