24 أكتوبر 2018 ماري إيدن

سياحة مظلمة - هل تجرؤ؟

بينما نقترب من عيد القديسين ، لنبتعد عن الشواطئ المندثرة والمعابد القديمة ونأخذ رحلة في أحزاننا ويأسنا "السياحة المظلمة".

إن تذكر الماضي الرهيب لبلد ما أمر مهم لفهم أين هو هذا البلد اليوم ، لتثقيف أنفسنا والتعلم من أخطاء الماضي.

فيما يلي اقتراحاتنا للأماكن المروعة ولكن الضرورية للزيارة:

معبد الجماجم

التصوير الفوتوغرافي Bem: 0983194978 / Flickr.com

لقد أودى نظام الخمير الحمر المروع والمرعب في كمبوديا بحياة ما يصل إلى مليوني شخص من 1975 - 1979. حقول القتل و متحف Tuol Sleng Genocide معروفة جيدا على درب السياحة المظلمة. ليست معروفة جدا ، ولكن محزن بنفس القدر ، هي قرية صغيرة من با تشوك. في أبريل 1978 ، تم ذبح القرويين 3,157 هنا. وقعت غالبية عمليات القتل في معبد فاي لاي ، حيث لا يزال من الممكن رؤية بقع الدم. وتذكر هذه الشاشة التي تحتوي على العديد من الجماجم والعظام المتبقية هذه الأيام المروعة.

صحوة جبل ميرابي

شانكار. / Flickr.com

في 2010 على جزيرة جاوا الإندونيسية ، جبل ميرابي استيقظ. عانى الثوران من الفوضى على المنحدرات الجنوبية للجبل. تم دفن قرى كاملة ومات المئات. جولات الجيب الآن تأخذ مستكشفين غريبين لرؤية تدفقات الحمم البركانية ومسارات الدمار. القيادة فوق الرماد البركاني وأكوام الماضي من الحصى والصخور المتفحمة وبقايا القرى المدمرة. لا تنس عصا السيلفي للحصول على الطقات داخل هذه المنطقة المتربة الأخرى.

زعيم العالم المحنط

Photomaxx / Shutterstock.com

في هانوي يمكنك أن ترى بقايا هوشي منه ، الزعيم الشيوعي. جثته المحنطة معروضة في قاعة باردة متجمدة في التقشف هوشي منه ضريحوهي عبارة عن هيكل ضخم من الجرانيت يلوح فوق ساحة با دنه. خطوط من الزوار ، بما في ذلك السياح والسكان المحليين والشخصيات الأجنبية ، في طابور كل يوم لتقديم احترامهم. من الواضح أن هو شي مينه أراد أن يتم حرقه بعد وفاته ، ولكن عندما تكون محبوبًا ، لا يتم منح رغباتك المحتضرة.

كل على متن سكة الموت

كريستيان يونكر | التصوير الفوتوغرافي / Flickr.com

الجسر فوق نهر كواي و سكة الموت في تايلاند هي بقايا مؤثرة لفصل وحشي من الحرب العالمية الثانية. أكثر من 100,000 أسرى الحرب وعمال جنوب شرق آسيا ماتوا أثناء العمل على السكك الحديدية. تعرض اليابانيون السجناء لوحشية لا هوادة فيها ، وظروف معيشية مزرية وسوء التغذية. يمكن للسياح المظلومين زيارة المتاحف المختلفة التي تُظهر الاستجمام في معسكرات الاعتقال ، والحقول المهيبة المليئة بالقبور ، بل والركوب على السكك الحديدية سيئة السمعة.

ما يكمن تحت

© ICS مجموعة السفر

الزحمة عبر ممر ضيق ، ملتوي ، ضيق سيكون كابوسًا للبعض. ولكن بالنسبة للفيتكونغ ، فضلا عن لعب جزء لا يتجزأ في الفوز في حرب فيتنام ، و نفق تشي تشي كان منزلهم ومكان عملهم لسنوات عديدة. تؤدي فتحات الدخول المموهة بشكل جيد إلى شبكة من الأنفاق الخانقة تمتد عبر أكثر من كيلومترات تربط بين مراكز القيادة والمستشفيات والملاجئ. وإلى جانب الأنفاق ، فإن الأفخاخ المتفجرة المميتة المصنوعة من البامبو هي من الأشياء التي يجب مشاهدتها.

الحرب التي لاوس لا تزال تحارب

copelaos.org

على الرغم من أن معظم المسافرين على بينة من أهوال حرب فيتنام ، إلا أن القليل منهم يعرفون ما يسمى "الحرب السرية" التي وقعت في المكان المجاور في الواقع كانت لاوس البلد الأكثر تعرضًا للقصف خلال هذه الفترة. فشلت العديد من القنابل في التفجير وما زال الناس يتعرضون للقتل أو التشويه اليوم. في فينتيان يمكنك زيارة COPE (المؤسسة التعاونية لتقويم العظام والأطراف الصناعية)، وهي منظمة غير حكومية ملهمة توفر للناجين من الذخائر غير المنفجرة رعاية وإعادة تأهيل وأطراف صناعية.

Dark Tourism – Do you Dare?

October 24, 2018
October 24, 2018 Mary Eden

Dark Tourism – Do you Dare?

As we approach Halloween, let’s move away from sundrenched beaches and ancient temples and take a trip into the heartbreak and despair of ‘dark tourism’.

Remembering the macabre past of a country is important to understand where that country is today, to educate ourselves and learn from past mistakes.

Here are our suggestions for grisly but necessary places to visit:

A Temple of Skulls

Bem photography: 0983194978 / Flickr.com

Cambodia’s brutal and terrifying Khmer Rouge regime claimed the lives of up to two million people from 1975 – 1979. The Killing Fields and the Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum are well known on the dark tourism trail. Not so well known, yet equally distressing, is the small village of Ba Chuc. In April 1978, 3,157 villagers were massacred here. The majority of the killings took place in the Phi Lai Pagoda, where blood stains can still be seen. A display containing many of the remaining skulls and bones recalls these horrific days.

 

The Awakening of Mount Merapi

shankar s. / Flickr.com

In 2010 on the Indonesian island of Java, Mount Merapi woke up. The eruption wreaked havoc on the southern slopes of the mountain. Whole villages were buried and hundreds perished. Jeep tours now take eerie explorers to see the lava flows and the trails of destruction. Drive over volcanic ash, past piles of gravel, charred rocks and remains of destroyed villages. Don’t forget the selfie stick for snaps within this dusty, otherworldly region.

 

An Embalmed World Leader

Photomaxx / Shutterstock.com

In Hanoi you can see the long-gone remains of Ho Chi Minh, the communist leader. His embalmed corpse is on display in a freezing cold hall in the austere Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, a massive granite structure that looms over Ba Dinh Square. Lines of visitors, including tourists, locals and foreign dignitaries, queue up every day to pay their respects. Apparently Ho Chi Minh wanted to be cremated following his death, however when you’re this loved, your dying wishes don’t get granted.

 

All Aboard the Death Railway

Christian Junker | Photography / Flickr.com

The bridge over the River Kwai and the Death Railway in Thailand are a poignant remnant of a brutal chapter of World War II. More than 100,000 prisoners of war and Southeast Asian labourers died while working on the railway. The Japanese subjected the prisoners to unrelenting brutality, squalid living conditions and malnutrition. Dark tourists can visit various museums that show recreations of the prison camps, solemn fields full of graves, and even take a ride on the infamous railway.

 

What Lies Beneath

© ICS Travel Group

Crawling through a dark, twisted, narrow passage would be a nightmare for some. But for the Vietcong, as well as playing an integral part in winning the Vietnam War, the Cu Chi Tunnels were their home and workplace for many years. The well-camouflaged entrance holes lead into a network of suffocating tunnels that stretch for over 200 kilometres connecting command posts, hospitals and shelters. Besides the tunnels, the site’s deadly, bamboo-spiked booby traps are a must-see.

 

The War That Laos Still Fights

copelaos.org

Although most travellers are aware of the horrors of the Vietnam War, very few know of the so-called ‘Secret War’ which took place right next door. In fact Laos was the most heavily bombed country during this time. Many bombs failed to detonate and people are still being killed or maimed today. In Vientiane you can visit COPE (Cooperative Orthotic and Prosthetic Enterprise), an inspiring NGO that provides survivors of UXO with care, rehabilitation and prosthetics.