19月2018日,XNUMX年 玛丽伊登

8圣诞节的另类亚洲目的地

厌倦了寒冷的天气和黑暗的日子? 不想为整个家庭烹饪圣诞大餐,也许更多? 离亚洲最后一刻的圣诞假期是完美的解决方案。

无论你是想戴上派对帽还是庆祝,或者宁愿逃避这一切,这里都是我们对另一个节日季节的建议:

越南沙巴

Fansipan山,Sapa,越南

冬天的萨帕是神奇的。 虽然没有保证下雪,但空气清新凉爽,通常有蓝天和阳光。 在圣诞节前夕,当地人涌入镇中心,在圣玫瑰堂前举行庆祝活动。 对于圣诞节而言,为什么不征服Mount Fansipan,即印度支那屋顶。 冒险者可以徒步上山 - 允许两天。 如果时间非常重要,那么乘坐15分钟缆车可以欣赏风景。 从山顶看,萨帕镇和水稻梯田的山谷景色令人惊叹。 只需保暖!

巴厘岛

猴子在猴子森林,Ubud,巴厘岛

一些巴厘岛最好的俱乐部都在沙滩上,他们都会在节日期间举办豪华派对。 餐厅和酒店将提供全面的圣诞晚餐,但为什么不去巴厘岛而是享用'babi guling' - 着名的乳猪用香料捣碎。 和家人一起来? 孩子们将在Waterborn Bali度过一段时间的鲸鱼游泳池,游泳池和滑水道。 他们可以学习冲浪,滑水或将整个家庭拖到香蕉船上! 如果你的厚脸皮小猴子失控,那就把它带到乌布的猴子森林去迎接长尾猕猴。

乌代布尔,印度

湖宫殿在乌代浦,印度

乌代浦(Udaipur)拥有塔楼式宫殿,粉刷的havelis和狭窄弯曲的街道,拥有童话般的感觉。 您可以尽情享用Lake Palace酒店的下午茶,该酒店似乎漂浮在湖面上。 在水边是一个18th 世纪宫殿,您可以在那里观看传统拉贾斯坦娱乐的现场表演。 女性穿着鲜艳的色彩,装满银色饰物,优雅地旋转,在节奏的圆圈中跳舞,传统的印度音乐。 Panto永远不会有同样的诱惑力。

曼谷,泰国

圣诞节装饰在曼谷

泰国人喜欢聚会! 即使圣诞节不是法定假日,当地人也会在圣诞节庆祝活动中加入外国人和游客。 购物中心似乎相互竞争最大,最壮观的圣诞树,而街道上装饰着童话般的灯光。 酒店为所有装饰品提供精心制作的火鸡晚餐; 整个城市都可以听到卡罗尔音乐会; 圣诞老人成为餐厅和酒吧的常客。 对于购物狂,有假日销售和促销,提供令人难以置信的便宜货。

缅甸Ngapali海滩

在日落时的Ngapali海滩

如果您渴望和平与宁静,可前往缅甸的Ngapali海滩 - 一个宁静的海滩,已成功避免大规模旅游(暂时)。 在海滩之外,您可以徒步进入丛林,骑自行车前往附近的山脉,或者在古朴的渔村中观看渔民的工作。 傍晚时分,您可以一边品尝酒吧,一边品尝鸡尾酒,一边欣赏孟加拉湾的阳光。 在海边享用晚餐,享用您在当天早些时候看到的鲜鱼。

不丹

不丹的Taktsang修道院

你想在Yuletide的季节里做一些灵魂探索吗? 乘坐探索之旅进入雷龙之城,前往标志性的Taktsang修道院或虎巢,这是众所周知的。 这座令人难以置信的抗重力修道院紧贴着Paro山谷上方900米的悬崖峭壁。 如果您对传统的白色圣诞节感到怀旧,那么只需看一眼那些令人难以置信的白雪皑皑的喜马拉雅山脉。

柬埔寨暹粒

Ta Phrom寺庙,暹粒,柬埔寨

为了让所有家庭度过充满乐趣的圣诞节,您可能不会立即想到吴哥窟。 但是,如果孩子们可以在古老的佛塔和寺庙中用嘟嘟车进行劳拉克罗夫特风格的寻宝活动呢? 然后乘坐令人兴奋的拉链 - 穿过热带雨林,在悬空的天桥之间拉上绳索,沿着高耸的树木降落。 结束一天,观看年轻的高棉艺人在柬埔寨马戏团Phare表演杂技,航空艺术和现代舞。

琅勃拉邦,老挝

修士在琅勃拉邦,老挝收集施舍

对于悠闲的节日季节,琅勃拉邦就是您的最佳选择。 这家家庭经营的酒店位于一栋经过改建的殖民风格别墅内, 晚餐时,交换火鸡和烤穗,用于糯米和湄公河的鲜鱼。 圣诞节早晨,黎明前醒来,走进黑暗的街道,看到长长的藏红花僧侣穿过空旷的街道。 通过向僧侣提供施舍来获得优点 - 在沉默中举行仪式。 如果您忘记购买任何圣诞礼物,那么前往夜市购买当地制作的手工艺品。

8 Alternative Asian Destinations for Christmas

December 19, 2018
December 19, 2018 Mary Eden

8 Alternative Asian Destinations for Christmas

Fed up of the cold weather and the dark days? Don’t feel like cooking Christmas dinner for the entire family, and maybe more? A last-minute Christmas getaway to Asia is the perfect solution.

Whether you want to don your party hat and celebrate, or would rather just escape from it all, here are our suggestions for an alternative festive season:

Sapa, Vietnam

Mount Fansipan, Sapa, Vietnam

Sapa in winter is magical. While snow is not guaranteed, the air is crisp and cold, often with blue skies and sunshine. On Christmas Eve the locals pour into the centre of the town for celebrations in front of the Holy Rosary Church. For Christmas Day with a difference, why not conquer Mount Fansipan, known as the Roof of Indochina. The adventurous can trek up the mountain – allow two days for that. If time is of the essence, soar over the scenery on a 15-minute cable car ride. From the summit, the views over Sapa town and valleys of rice terraces are stunning. Just wrap up warm!

 

Bali

Monkeys in Monkey Forest, Ubud, Bali

Some of Bali’s best clubs are on the beach and they’re all going to be throwing lavish parties over the festive season. Restaurants and hotels will be offering full Christmas dinners, but why not go Balinese instead and feast on ‘babi guling’ – the famous suckling pig slathered in spices. Coming with the family? Kids will have a whale of a time at Waterborn Bali with its pools, games and waterslides. They can learn to surf, wakeboard or drag the entire family onto a banana boat! If your cheeky little monkeys are getting out of hand, then take them up to the Monkey Forest in Ubud to meet the long-tail macaques.

 

Udaipur, India

Lake Palace in Udaipur, India

With its turreted palaces, whitewashed havelis and narrow crooked streets, Udaipur has the feel of a fairytale. Indulge in afternoon tea in the Lake Palace hotel which seems to float on the surface of the lake. On the water’s edge is an 18th century palace where you can catch a live performance of traditional Rajasthani entertainment. Women dressed in vibrant colours and laden with silver ornaments, gracefully swirl and dance in rhythmic circles to traditional Indian music. Panto will never have the same allure.

 

Bangkok, Thailand

Christmas decorations in Bangkok

Thais just love to party! Even though Christmas is not an official holiday, the locals will join the expats and tourists in the Christmas celebrations. The shopping malls seem to compete with each other for the biggest and most spectacular Christmas tree, while the streets are festooned with fairy lights. Hotels put on elaborate turkey dinners with all the trimmings; carol concerts can be heard all over the city; and Santa Claus becomes a regular in the restaurants and bars. For shopaholics, there are holiday sales and promotions that offer incredible bargains.

 

Ngapali Beach, Myanmar

Ngapali Beach at sunset

If you’re craving peace and quiet, head to Myanmar’s Ngapali Beach – a tranquil beach that has managed to avoid mass tourism (for the time being). Beyond the beaches, take a hike into the jungle, cycle into the nearby mountain range or watch the fishermen at work in the quaint fishing villages. Early evening, find a bar and sip a cocktail while watching the sun set into the Bay of Bengal. Follow this with dinner by the beach, feasting on the fresh fish that you saw being caught earlier in the day.

 

Bhutan

Taktsang Monastery, Bhutan

Do you want to spend the Yuletide season doing some soul searching? Take a journey of discovery into the Land of the Thunder Dragon and make a pilgrimage to the iconic Taktsang Monastery or Tiger’s Nest as it is commonly known. This incredible gravity-defying monastery clings to a sheer cliff face 900 metres above the Paro Valley. If you do feel nostalgic for a traditional white Christmas, then just glance up at those incredible snow-capped Himalayan mountains.

Siem Reap, Cambodia

Ta Phrom temple, Siem Reap, Cambodia

For a fun-filled Christmas day for all the family you may not immediately think of Angkor Wat. However, what if the kids could do a Lara Croft-style treasure hunt by tuk-tuk among the ancient stupas and temples? Follow that with an exhilarating zip ride – flying through the tropical rain forest, zipping between suspended sky bridges and abseiling from towering trees. End the day watching young Khmer artistes performing acrobatics, aerial arts and modern dance at Phare, the Cambodian Circus.

 

Luang Prabang, Laos

Monks collecting alms in Luang Prabang, Laos

For a laid back festive season, look no further than Luang Prabang. Stay in a cosy, family run hotel in a converted colonial villa. For dinner, swap turkey and roast spuds for sticky rice and fresh fish from the Mekong. On Christmas morning wake before dawn and set out into the dark streets to see the long lines of saffron-clad monks making their way through the empty streets. Earn merit through offering alms to the monks – a ceremony conducted in silence. If you’ve forgotten to buy any Christmas presents then head to the night market for locally made handicrafts.